LMS elections, 2010

It’s London Mathematical Society election time again, and members have received their ballots in the mail with the October newsletter. Please vote if you’re an LMS member! One thing I hope we all learned from last year’s excitement is the importance of consistently active membership.

N.B. Completed ballot papers must be received at the LMS by Thursday 11 November 2010. If you’re missing your ballot papers, you can contact Duncan Turton at the LMS (nominations@lms.ac.uk).

I’m on the LMS Council but am midway through a two-year term, so my Council slot is not involved in this year’s election. Other Council slots are, however, and the officers have to be re-elected every year. You can see the whole slate here. And there are statements from some candidates on the Future of the LMS blog: here.

I’d like to say a brief word in praise of the Education Secretary, Chris Budd. Governments love to tinker with education at all levels, and in this country they especially seem to love to consult about tinkering with education. For the past three years I’ve admired how Chris has 1) kept up with the flood of consultations and 2) achieved a reasonable balance between participation and criticism. Everything I’ve heard and read from him has struck me as sensible.

1 Comment

Filed under LMS

One response to “LMS elections, 2010

  1. Burt Totaro

    The results have been posted on the LMS website: here. Joining the LMS Council are Wilfrid Kendall (Warwick), Marco Marletta (Cardiff), and Colva Roney-Dougal (St Andrews).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s